Robotics Camp


Robotics Camp 2009 for students ages 9 and up

In the brand new Paul Scribner Robotics Lab at GVS

This hands-on summer program will immerse you in the exciting and popular world of robotics. Students will learn about topics such as gear ratios, locomotion and energy as they construct robots with the new Lego Mindstorms NXT and VEX Robotics kits. During the week students will learn how to design, build, program and control robots while putting them through a series of real-world challenges. This camp is ideal for students who love to build things with their hands and want to learn more about mechanical and programming concepts. This camp will challenge you to think critically and work with others to solve problems. Whether you are brand new to programming and robotics or already have experience and are an aspiring engineer, this camp will allow you to increase your knowledge while having an amazing time along with other students with similar interests.

 

Week 1: July 20-24, 2009--Ages 9 and up
Week 2: July 27-31, 2009--Ages 9 and up

Hours 9:00 to 3:00
Cost: $200 per week

 

Topics Covered:

  1. Learn robot construction principles using Lego Technic parts.
  2. Build robots using Lego NXT and VEX Robotics Systems.
  3. Program robots using RobotC
  4. Learn principles of motion and gearing and use of light, touch and ultrasonic sensors.
  5. Compete in a variety of robot challenges that include mazes, obstacle courses, races, and sumo wrestling.

Please Download a Registration Form here. Spaces limited.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, May 2--Fourth grade visit to Strawbery Banke

Thursday, May 4--Spelling Bee, 11:00 a.m.

Friday, Saturday May 12-13--Lower El camping trip

Saturday, Sunday May 13-14--Junior High families parking cars at Sheep and Wool Festival at the Deerfield Fairground

Monday to Friday May 15-19--Junior High students to Ferry Beach Ecology School in Saco, ME.

Tuesday, May 23--Community meeting hosted by the Preschool Class, 11:00 a.m.

Monday, May 29--No School, Memorial Day

Wednesday, May 31--Move Up Day. New students to visit the classrooms.

Thursday, June 8--Last day of school, preschool; Preschool Graduation in the a.m.

Friday, June 9--Talent Show and Potluck Dinner, 6:00 p.m.

Monday, June 12--First day of Preschool Summer Program

Thursday, June 15--Last day of school Lower Elementary

Friday, June 16--Last day of school Upper Elementary and Junior High

2017-18 Calendar